Our Traditional Method

Since 1892, LES CORDELIERS have been producing light, aromatic sparkling wines renowned for their fine, elegant bubbles. The fruits of an ancestral tradition and an unflinching commitment to quality, our wines are crafted from the finest Bordeaux grape varieties using traditional method developed in the Champagne region. The underground wine cellars of our Saint-Emilio cloister offer the perfect conditions for creating and maturing superior sparkling wines.

Heritage and tradition

Sparkling for 120 years

Since 1892, LES CORDELIERS have been creating superior sparkling wines in Saint-Emilio using traditional method, also called champagne method. We have always maintained the utmost respect for this historic process, which for 120 years has allowed us to produce the magnificent sparkling wines which have made our name. From the choice of grape varieties to the fermentation techniques, not forgetting our harvest and vilification procedures, at LES CORDELIERS every step of the winemaking process is mastered to ensure that our products are worthy rivals for France’s finest sparkling wines.

A commitment to quality

From the vine to the glass

LES CORDELIERS meticulously select the very finest Bordeaux grape varieties, collecting the fruit by hand in small, open trays. The grapes are then pressed lightly (yielding 100 liters of juice for every 150kg of fruit), with vinification at controlled temperatures followed by the final blending of each cuvée. Our sparkling wines are produced with the traditional method often called champagne method They are aged for between 12 and 24 months over the lees in the cellars below the cloister, where no daylight penetrates and the temperature remains constant at 12°C. These conditions are ideal for fermenting and maturing the wines, and the bottles are turned daily to encourage a long, slow development until the wines are ready for disgorging. The penultimate step is the topping up of the bottles with the 'liqueur d’expédition', before sealing with traditional corks finally concludes the production process. Every step of the way, from the vine to the glass, our expert oenologists apply extremely rigorous quality standards.

Glossary

Useful wine terminology

From ‘AOC’ to ‘Zymase’ - check out our glossary of technical wine terms and find out how LES CORDELIERS have been producing their unique sparkling wines since 1892, with a blend of ancestral techniques and cutting-edge 21st-century oenological expertise.
LES CORDELIERS,<br />putting the sparkle<br />in Saint-Emilion since 1892 The fine bubbles characteristic<br />of LES CORDELIERS sparkling wines
Ancestral expertise,<br />an artisan process Our cellars deep<br />beneath Saint-Emilion

Notre méthode traditionnelle

Depuis 1892, LES CORDELIERS produisent un vin pétillant léger et parfumé, reconnaissable à la finesse de ses bulles. Symbole d'un savoir-faire ancestral et fruit d'une recherche continue de qualité, notre production maison est élaborée à partir des meilleurs cépages du bordelais, selon la méthode traditionnelle appelée communément champenoise. Nos vins pétillants bénéficient de conditions idéales d’élaboration et de vieillissement dans les caves souterraines de notre cloître à Saint-Emilion.

L'héritage d'un savoir faire

120 ans de pétillant

Depuis 1892, LES CORDELIERS élaborent au cœur de Saint-Emilion de grands vins effervescents selon la méthode traditionnelle appelée champenoise. Nous accordons un soin particulier au respect de ce procédé artisanal, garant depuis 120 ans de la qualité de nos vins et fierté de notre maison. Du choix des cépages à la fermentation, en passant par les vendanges et la vinification, LES CORDELIERS subliment toutes les étapes de fabrication d’un pétillant unique digne des plus grands vins pétillants français.

L'exigence de la qualité

De la vigne au verre

LES CORDELIERS sélectionnent avec rigueur les prestigieux cépages du Bordelais et s’assurent d’une cueillette des raisins à la main et en clayettes ajourées. Un pressurage léger est effectué (100 litres de jus pour 150 kg de raisins) ainsi qu’une vinification à basse température avec un assemblage unique pour chaque cuvée. Nos vins sont élevés selon la méthode traditionnelle d’élaboration appelée « champenoise ». Ils vieillissent de 24 à 72 mois sur lies dans les caves du cloître où ils bénéficient d’une totale obscurité et d’une température constante de 12°C. Ces conditions sont idéales pour la fermentation et le bon vieillissement des bouteilles, lesquelles font l’objet d’un remuage quotidien pour suivre la lente évolution avant dégorgement des bouteilles. Le dosage en liqueur d’expédition et le bouchage par bouchons de liège marquent la dernière étape d’un long processus d’élevage de notre production qui, de la vigne au verre, fait l’objet de contrôles qualité drastiques de nos œnologues.

Notre lexique

Les termes du vin à connaître

De « AOC » à « Zymase », consultez notre lexique sur les termes techniques du vin sous la forme d’un abécédaire qui vous apprendra comment LES CORDELIERS élaborent depuis 1892 un pétillant unique, en utilisant à la fois un savoir-faire ancestral et les connaissances œnologiques et techniques les plus avancées du XXIe siècle.
Les Cordeliers,<br />les bulles de Saint-Emilion<br />depuis 1892 La finesse des bulles<br />caractéristique des vins pétillants<br />Les Cordeliers
Un savoir-faire ancestral,<br />un procédé artisanal Nos caves profondes<br />au cœur de Saint-Emilion